Making the brightness keys work on a VAIO VGN-FE31H

After installing Windows XP on the VGN-FE31H, the screen brightness keys (Fn-F5 and Fn-F6) no longer work. To make them work again you need to install some of the utilities that ship with the laptop, which are also available in the FE3_Utilities.zip download from the Sony web site.

The three utilities are:

  1. Utils Installer 1 SonyUtils DLL
  2. Utils Installer 2 Sony Shared Library (this one needs a reboot)
  3. Utils Installer VAIO Event Service

The “VAIO Event Service” needs to be running for the keys to work.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making the brightness keys work on a VAIO VGN-FE31H

  1. frederick jones says:

    I have the same problem on a Vaio vgn NS20E I have tried to download the above updates but I think my computer knowledge is insufficient to correct the problem .
    The downloads are present on my laptop but I do not know why the fault still persists.
    I am wondering if I have to do anything with these updates , ie do I have to run them
    and ,if so ,how do I do this . ?Any help will be really appreciated .

    • Richard says:

      Sorry, but I don’t know anything about the VGN-NS20E.

      Are you saying that you’ve got a copy of FE3_Utilities.zip? That’s specific to FE3 VAIOs, so probably wouldn’t work with your VGN-NS20E. There’s probably something suitable for your laptop on the VAIO web site.

      Secondly, you do actually need to the run the installers for these utilities; just having the file on your hard disk will do nothing.

Leave a comment